This year marked the 25th anniversary of the Oregon Trophy at the KWPN Stallion Show. The battle for this coveted trophy is always a big happening in Den Bosch. Which harness stallion has so far won the Oregon Trophy most often? Find out in this week’s trivia. 

Since the harness stallions battle for the top honours in the outdoor season, the KWPN Stallion Show does not host a stallion competition for harness stallions. Since 1998 the Oregon Trophy has filled that void in Den Bosch. A competition that is renowned for the thrills and spills brought by the drivers and their stallions as well as the excited response from the crowd! The Oregon Trophy is open to all KWPN-approved harness stallions. 

Quartet for Patijn 

The harness stallion Patijn (Kolonel out of Julony ster pref by Renovo, bred by H. van Til of Leek) could bring the Oregon Trophy home four times. An impressive feat that also lands him at the top of the list. The first victory was secured in 2002, then driven by Thomas van der Weiden. Patijn was only five years of age at the time. Twice, both in 2004 and 2005, Linda Boelens got her hands on the famous trophy thanks to Patijn’s efforts. Linda is the only female competitor in the list of Oregon Trophy winners. The fourth time, in 2008, it was Harm Jan Veenstra that piloted Patijn to the top position. 

Manno, Cizandro and Eebert

For three consecutive years (1999-2000-2001) the coveted prize fell prey to Manno (Fabricius out of Gilvia ster pref by Zakerno, bred by S.J. Verwij of Geldermalsen). Each time Manno was ridden by Kees van de Maat. The first win was obtained when Manno was five years old, just like Patijn. This impressive feat was later repeated by Cizandro (Waldemar out of Ulzandra ster pref by Manno, bred by Gebr. Den Otter). Cizandro also had his first taste of victory at five years of age. In the hands of Robbie van Dijk, the stallion won the trophy in 2012, 2023, and 2014. 

Eebert (Atleet out of Veldine keur pref prest by Manno, bred by P.J.M. Lelieveld of Leidschendam) also added a total of three wins to his name. The stallion won in 2015 under the guidance of Lambertus Huckriede before Robbie van Dijk picked up the reins and led the stallion to victory in 2017 and 2018.

Magnifiek right on track

The rising six-year-old Magnifiek (Idol out of Helise keur IBOP-tuig van Atleet, bred by H. Kruidhof of Rouveen) is climbing up the ranks. The grey stallion stormed to the win in the last two editions of the Oregon Trophy. Together with Lambertus Huckriede, the stallion left quite the impression with his performance at the KWPN Stallion Show last February. 

Most successful driver

The drivers that bagged the Oregon Trophy most often are Robbie van Dijk and Lambertus Huckriede. Both gentlemen presented the winning stallion no less than five times. They are followed by Kees van der Maat, who won the trophy three times. Thomas van der Weiden, Marcel Ritsma and Linda Boelens each won the Oregon Trophy twice. 

1998 – Harald, presented by Lammert Vinke
1999 t/m 2001 - Manno, presented by Kees van der Maat
2002 - Patijn, presented by Thomas van der Weiden
2003 - Opgenoort, presented by Lambertus Huckriede
2004 en 2005 - Patijn, presented by Linda Boelens
2006 - Saffraan, presented by Marcel Ritsma
2007 - Uromast, presented by Thomas van der Weiden
2008 - Patijn, presented by Harm-Jan Veenstra
2009 - Saffraan, presented by Marcel Ritsma
2010 - Stuurboord, presented by Mark de Groot
2011 - Atleet, presented by der Henk Hammers
2012 t/m 2014 - Cizandro, presented by Robbie van Dijk
2015 - Eebert, presented by Lambertus Huckriede
2016 - Delviro HBC, presented by Harry van Middelaar
2017 en 2018 - Eebert, presented by Robbie van Dijk
2019 – Hubert VDM, presented by Lambertus Huckriede
2020 – Icellie, presented by Harm-Jan Veenstra
2022 en 2023 – Magnifiek, presented by Lambertus Huckriede










Curious to read about other fun facts? Visit the Trivia Thursday page!

Photo Patijn: Jacob Melissen

€ 124.75 per year

KWPN Membership

  • Subscription to the montlhy digital KWPN Magazine (in Dutch)
  • Free advertising at KWPN Horses for Sale
Become a member now

About the KWPN

The KWPN (Studbook of the Royal Dutch Sport Horse) is a Netherlands-based organization specializing in the breeding of jumpers, dressage horses, harness horses, and Gelder horses.

More info

Official Partners

Cookies on the KWPN website

We request your agreement to the use of cookies on our website. More information is available on our cookie policy page.

Cookie Policy